2013 Southern

Thank you curlers, your 53rd Southern Ontario Fire Fighters Curling Championship, hosted this year at the Quinte Curling Club in Belleville, is now history. I would like to thank Ryan Ward and the executive for their efforts in running a very enjoyable Southern.

I would also like to thank our many sponsors who without their generous support, we could not enjoy this great event and continue our support of MD. 

Although our numbers were up only slightly, the competition was stiff and all participants had a great weekend. 

The final vetted 2 Ottawa teams against each other. Dwayne Lowe’s team of Aaron Ward, Ryan Ward, Mike Bohonos and Brian Scott, fought off a solid Dan Thomsen's team and will have the pleasure of representing us in Saint John, New Brunswick at the 54th Canadian Fire Fighters Curling Championship March 22 - 31st, 2013. 

You can follow their progress online at the Nationals through the link at www.cffca.ca. As usual, it will be a great and memorable opportunity to meet with fellow fire fighters from across this great country and continue Aubrey’s dream.

With only nine teams in attendance at the Southerns, again funds will be tight and our support for the champs limited. If anyone has any sponsorship opportunities or fund raising ideas, please let us know ASAP.

Our sponsors are:

Asham Curling Burnt Rock Curling Co. Collingwood Fire
Frontline Financial Garden City Display HMECU
Ice King L288 IAFF M & L Fire Safety Supply
Olson Curling Supplies Tournament Sports Vaughan Fire & Rescue
Starfield Lion

Good Luck to all in Saint John, New Brunswick and please remember to support our generous sponsors!

During our AGM, some new faces stepped forward to become your new executive. John Clare (Brampton) will be Sec/Treas, Dwayne Lowe (Ottawa) VP, Adam Kubic (Guelph) and Larry Teeter ( Vaughan) Directors join Mike Bohonos (Lincoln), Shaun Wolfe (Toronto), Marvin Waldroff (Newington), and myself as President elect as June 1, 2013. 

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all who volunteer and have served to keep this association alive over the years. I especially would like to thank Dwayne Lowe and Jackie Waters for their efforts over the past decade. Their personal sacrifice behind the scene has been what has given us an opportunity to once again build this association in the future.

The membership also voted to honour our fallen brother Shane McCready by changing the name of our championship trophy. In conjunction with this there is to be a fund raising spiel in Niagara Falls in his honor where the trophy will be unveiled for the first time, March 23. I hope to see many of you there.

As I speak of the future, we are scheduled to host the Canadian in 2017. We have been instructed by the membership to strike a committee to plan and investigate the feasibility of hosting successfully. Please contact me if you would like to contribute in anyway towards this committee. 

I expect that their will be a great need for input and hope that we can once again show the Canadian that Southern Ontario can successfully and responsibly host our National Championship.

Ross Hammill

2013 Teams

View site map
Contact us for info



Upcoming Events:



Contact Us

Click to Contact Us